Day Off; or, The Best Lunch I’ve Eaten Recently

March 16, 2010 at 9:32 am (Current Events, French Wine, Our Favorite Things, What we are eating, What we are thinking, What we're drinking) (, , , , , , , )

by erin

We all know what grand plans get made for a day off work:
“I’m totally going to do all that laundry! And, like, go grocery shopping! Yeah!”

Well, that never happens. At least not for me. And honestly, I prefer it that way. Sometimes, you just need to actually relax. And I find cooking both relaxing and productive [a Type A personality’s favorite kind of activity!–ed]. I blow off some steam, and also get to eat something. The problem, of course, is that because I was not inclined to go to the grocery store, I was then somewhat bereft of things to cook. Catch-22!

I try to always have a few staples at home. Eggs are one of them, and even though I don’t often cook eggs to eat on their own, for some reason, I was really feeling an omelette. So, I start scrounging around, because the best thing about omelettes is that you can throw just about anything in there– a great way to get rid of those last scraps of cheese and meat and veggies. So, whoosh! In go some on-their-way-out scallions, and then a tablespoon of ricotta. Those mushrooms I should have eaten already? Yeah, those too. Season with a great sea salt blended with some dried herbs, a little pepper, and bam. Lunch is served.

The reason for this blog post is not to make you salivate, dear reader. It’s to focus on one thing I did during this lunch that made the whole thing a really pretty, and dare I say it, French picture: I drank a glass of wine with that lunch. A small one, a simple Austrian white, the LUSH staple, Ebenauer Gruner Veltliner. It worked well with the herbaceous green notes of the onion, and was fresh and simple, keeping the whole scene unstuffy, as it should be at lunchtime. I love the idea of a little glass at lunchtime, and while many Americans don’t typically enjoy a glass during their lunches, instead choosing to binge at happy hour–as long as it’s past 5 PM!– I think it’s a lovely thing to do on one’s day off. Try it sometime.

1 Comment

  1. cara said,

    In keeping with our cosmic twin-pantry phenomenon, I have all those ingredients at home, at this moment, and will replicate your omelette TOMORROW! It’ll be just like our PB and J day.

    might have to sneak some of the Gruner outta lush in a flask

Leave a Reply

