Things I heart, take 5

October 7, 2009 at 5:28 pm (Our Favorite Things, What we are thinking, What we're drinking) (, , , , , )

2005 Domain Guiberateau Chenin Blanc, Samur, Loire Valley, France
Oh Guiberateau, how I heart thee!  Now that I’ve conquered the correct pronunciation of your name (well, by my American standards anyway), I can completely, whole-heartedly love you.  I’ve loved you, sweet, sweet bottle, since we met a few months ago, and just had the chance to try you again for a tasting we were doing.  Yep, I still heart you, wonderful wine, even more so!  So wierd yet so delicious.  The nose is so great and beautiful and smells like rocks with a touch of honey.  The palate shows a soft fruit, graphite and slate with a lingering minerally finish that has a hint of lime.  It paired great with the talipa I did not cook but did enjoy last night.  Suprisingly, there is still some left for me tonight, so while I’m hard at work, I’ll be dreaming of that half-full bottle of this delightful wine.

Leave a Reply

