Bye Bye Lushies

June 18, 2009 at 3:10 pm (Beer, Travel) (, , , , , , , , , )

It seems that the time has come for my second and last blog posting – I do not enjoy writing, nor do I command the written word as well as my Lush counterparts.

I’ll soon be starting my new life in a faraway land called Utah (yes, they sell alcohol there, and yes, some beers have less alcohol, and yes, you do get drunk at 4500 ft on low-alcohol beer just as easily as you would down here at sea level, or are we below sea level?). While I’m very excited to go back to my adopted home, it makes me a wee bit teary to say goodbye to yet another set of friends and coworkers. It has taken me six years to find such great friends in Chicago and they are what I will miss the most about this place when I leave. If I’m lucky, I will have many visitors to my new home! I really wish I could stick a little Gmail digi-emoticon here.

Anyhow, a couple of parting thoughts:

– If I had to pick one American winery and tell you to support their wines, it would be Brochelle. This won’t be a surprise to anyone who has ever spoken with me at the shop. Their wines are just so well done and they are a relatively small production, every bottle feels special!
– Our customers are the best. Thanks for coming in and chatting, shopping, drinking – you’ll be missed. And thanks for putting up with me if you were in the vicinity when I had to deal with the occasional rude customer (hmph!). Or if you were there after I had to deal with a car sales person.
– Thanks to Rachel for hiring me. Thanks to Mitch and Cliff for starting Lush and for paying me. These three definitely aided my well being over the past few years.
– Thanks to the Lush staff for putting up with me during the pre-med years. I know it gets annoying to hear about and they have been the best friends I could ask for.

Also, if you ever make your way to Utah, believe it or not there are some excellent local brews. Try the Polygamy Porter from Wasatch Beers just for the sake of novelty. Other popular breweries to look out for are Red Rock, Squatters and Bohemian.

polygamy

If you are a wine lover, the Utah State Wine Store has a great selection and knowledgeable staff, as both Kelly and I have learned from shopping there. We’ve seen a few Lush bottles there too. They are located at 255 South 300 East in Salt Lake City.

Bye bye!

ld

2 Comments

  1. Jane said,

    Can I get a poster of that Polygamy Porter? Amazing!

    We will miss you, Lils!

  2. Meg said,

    Congrats, good luck, and I’ll miss you!

Leave a Reply

