LUSH Interview: 10 Questions with David Garland

February 19, 2009 at 1:15 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Ten Questions With…

David Garland

Publisher, TimeOut Chicago

TimeOut Chicago

247 South State Street, 17th floor
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: 312-924-9555

BIO:

David, an old timer at TimeOut Chicago, is an integral component of the irreverently hilarious, informative, and edgy magazine and online resource. Keeping you in the know and on the up and up with all the ‘cool’ events and happenings in Chicago, TimeOut balances intelligent articles with wild editorial pieces, reviews, and an extensive, very helpful listing of current theater, music, and restaurant information, as well as sex ed and interviews with interesting characters.  TimeOut also features focus pieces on current, relevant local personalities is food and drink, as well as honest reviews of local establishments and shows.  Word.  Read it.

Thanks for agreeing to be a part of the Lush Wine & Spirits blog. Please answer the following questions in whatever way you see fit. We want your voice, personality, and opinions to come through!

1) What is the best thing you’ve drank in the last week? What about in the last year?

In the last week, I’d say Goose Island’s new Mild Winter, of which I had several on Friday night. In the last year, it would be North Shore Distillery‘s “Distiller’s Gin No. 6,” which was recommended to me by Mitch many months ago, and which I have since re-purchased at least twice. I also really like Three Floyds Gumball Head.

2) What do you think is the most underrated grape varietal or region? Overrated?

As someone who has purchased Barefoot Chardonnay at our local J.J. Peppers within the last two weeks, I am unable to answer this question. I like white more than red, and generally stick with beer, vodka, or gin.

3) Who are your favorite food and wine writers?

For obvious reasons, I love to read Heather Shouse and David Tamarkin in Time Out Chicago. They keep me up to speed on things, so that I at least sound like I know what I’m talking about. I also admit to keeping an eye on Chicago Mag’s food coverage, and I also dig around on urbanspoon.com and lthforum.com a little. And I never ever, for any reason, go to Metromix, not even to get a phone number.

4) What are your three favorite food cities?

I’m sure everybody says Chicago…..so I will say……Chicago! It’s the truth, right? Also, Boston (where I lived for several years and gained weight despite eating a lot of seafood) and Austin, Texas (BBQ, of course).

5) Top three restaurants you revisit all the time in Chicago?

My all around favorite is West Town Tavern, the vibe there is perfect and it’s a great place to take friends who haven’t been yet, so you get all the credit when they inevitably love it. In the summer, the back patio at Enoteca Roma is an oasis of joy, love their pizza and bruschetta and their cool and constantly evolving wine list. And for an awesome meatball sub (or Shrimp BLT) on a Saturday afternoon, I highly recommend The Brown Sack on West Armitage (just west of Weegee’s), a funky little sandwich joint that hasn’t quite been discovered by the masses.

6) What is your most memorable dining or drinking experience?

On my first date with the lady who is now my wife, we were to meet at a bar in Boston called Bukowski’s for a drink before heading off to dinner. We got seats at the bar and didn’t leave until many hours later when they closed. Over many a Hoegaarden, we chatted on while the very busy bar went on about its weekend business all around us. We never ate. We did go out again the very next night.

7) Between wine, beer, and spirits – when do you reach for each? If you HAD to do without one, which would it be?

Always been a beer guy, and thankfully there are enough beers to sample that I should never run out of new options. If I’m only having a drink or two, especially at or before dinner, I go with a gin gimlet on the rocks. Wine is a change of pace for me, and I truly do love a good bottle of white with the right kind of meal.

8) What is the best thing about your job?

Even after 207 consecutive weekly issues (and counting), I still love Time Out Chicago. Having been a part of it since well before the first issue, it’s been great to watch the growth and the way it’s been accepted by the city. It helps me stay involved in all the things I love (music, film, food, drink) and has given me new appreciation for other cultural pursuits (theater, art, classical music) simply by putting me in closer proximity to them.

9) If you had to describe yourself as a certain wine, what would it be? (i.e. Australian Shiraz – spicy, bold, and seductive. German Riesling – sometimes sweet (but hard to predict if it will be), elegant, and requiring of patience.)

I would be that Barefoot Chardonnay that I mentioned in question 2 (cheap and available on the corner).

10) You’re on death row (sorry). What’s your final meal?

In no particular order: 1) chicken sandwich from Chik-Fil-A, 2) fried fish and chips from Duke Of Perth, 3) whatever Barry recommends at Smoque, 4) Fat Boy with bacon and grilled onions from the Spoke, 5) goat cheese biscuits from Table 52, and 6) banana pudding from Feed for dessert. To drink, start with a couple of gin gimlets, then some white wine, and a couple of Goose Island IPA’s. No problem mixing if it’s my final meal.

– David Garland

Leave a Reply

