Ode to Angela

January 1, 2009 at 2:21 am (Our Favorite Things, What we're drinking) (, , , , , , , )

It was love at first sniff. For those who did not make it to our LUSH 2008 Staff pick tasting last Sunday, this was my pick. And seeing as I am Employee of the Year (doesn’t matter that it was self-nominated!), you know that this is good.

Picking a favorite bottle of 2008 was no easy task. There are so many amazing things to choose from that picking just one is very difficult. To me, it’s almost like asking what your favorite band is, or what your favorite song is, or if you like the blue album or pinkerton better, sometimes there’s just no simple answer. So what I did was made a list in my mind. I first picked my top 10 wines that I tried at Lush. Then I narrowed it down to my top 5. Then I sat and thought about it. And thought some more. And some more. I finally made my decision because this is one bottle that I talk about constantly. I also love it so much that I’m bringing it to my family’s Festivus celebration in Utah next week. Not only is it just delicious, but all the people behind it are amazing. And it’s super small production which always makes me feel really special because I get to drink it.

So, without further ado, here some notes about this wine

2006 Angela Pinot Noir

I love this Pinot Noir for a number of reasons. The first being the fact that it’s a beautiful wine. An excellent balance between soft fruit and earth tones with a hint of spice in there and a lingering finish that always puts a smile on my face. The second being all the people behind this beautiful wine. Winemaker Ken Wright is considered one of the founding fathers of the Willamette Valley Pinot Noir. Angela Beck, founder of an upscale line of housegoods called Pomegranate, predicted the quality of soil Savannah Ridge held, and the wine is named after her for that. Mark Gould, the dedicated Land Manger, is recognized throughout the Willamette Valley for his dedication to the soil and vineyards. Dr. Kim Clawson owns the winery that bears the family name. Rob Rosentein is a real estate developer that is also a wine merchant. He understands that quality of wine is directly related to the land – and he’s also considered one of the “discovers” of Oregon Pinot Noir. Anthony Beck, the same Beck family that owns Graham Beck Wineries in South Africa, is always amazed at the beauty of the vineyard and it’s ability to produce an amazing flavor profile. And they even pay tribute to Mark’s dog, Bandit, who always helped watch over the vineyard. Sadly he is no longer with them, but will always be remembered.

Leave a Reply

