What will you be drinking New Year’s Eve?

December 30, 2008 at 3:49 am (French Wine, What we're drinking) (, , )

Despite its lack of originality for the day, I will certainly be drinking bubbly on New Year’s Eve. I just can’t imagine toasting the New Year with anything fizzless. BUT, within the grand category of sparkling wine, there are many options that certainly do not lack originality.

Bubbly!

Bubbly!

Certainly, the classic is Champagne. If I’m feeling awfully generous and extravagent, I may have to buy one of our magnums: the heavier, toastier NV Michel Arnould (only $80 for 1.5 liters of delicious bubbly!) , or the yeastier, crisper 2000 Launois Special Club Blanc de Blancs ($128 for a vintage magnum certainly ain’t bad). And if I’m feeling really spendy, drinking Clos de Goisses — Philipponnat’s beloved single-vineyard tete de cuvee — would certainly be a magnificent start to 2009.

But, knowing me, I’m more likely to drink something a little more eccentric…I think I’ll be choosing between the NV Barth Brut Pinot Noir Rose, the NV AN Sparkling Verdejo, and the 1999 Gutzler Sekt Riesling (can’t argue with drinking a wine the day it becomes ten years old!).

What will you be drinking?

1 Comment

  1. lushrachel said,

    At the moment, at LUSH on Roscoe, we have the Luis Pato Baga Bruto open for sampling.

    I also brought in a bottle of Taittinger ‘Prelude’ Grand Cru that I had laying about…we are about to make a toast and do a bit of sipping.

    Later tonight, I expect to be drinking Ca ‘Vittoria Prosecco…in a sparkly bottle.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

