Fashionably Late

November 13, 2008 at 5:04 am (BYOB, Our Favorite Things, What we're drinking) (, , , , , )

Ok, just to be clear I’m not (finally) writing on this blog because of peer pressure, nor has my job been threatened (over blogging anyway), I’m doing it for the short ribs.

I’m sure I won’t be the first to praise these deliciously prepared delicacies from Urban Belly, but as a rather avid carnivore, and son of a meat business family, I thought that these babies deserve some props from me. Now I’m no foodie, I’d love to be but I keep spending all my money on booze and hiking boots, but the short ribs are well worth the trip up California (I just wish I had discovered them before the biking season, for us sissies, was drawing to an end).

I do want to make note of a few other parts of our experience at Urban Belly that made the whole evening one that we Lushies will be talking about for a while (besides, of course, the stroke of genius that was the decision to go to the Map Room afterward). First, whenever the Lush crew gets together we drink very well (Duh!), we showed up to the restaurant rolling heavy on booze and brought our own glasses to boot (and we call ourselves “unpretentious”). We had everything from last year’s Bell’s Hopslam, compliments of the Lance cellar, to Pax, but the favorite for me was actually the Pagodel Petite Verdot Rose (roses and asian food, love it!). As a post script to that statement, and a little sales pitch of my own, there are a ton of roses that have made their way from the wall to the $10 cart, hint, hint! Second, (sorry for the third grade essay format, but hey, I don’t do this very often) I loved the way the seating was set up. There are just four or five large tables where you sit alongside other guests, so unless you show up with six to eight people like we did, you share a table, which could work in your favor if you’re friendly and the people next to you like to share their booze! I also dug how people I knew kept walking through the door. As I’m sure has been mentioned in other posts about our adventure, Lincoln, our friend from 3 Floyds was there, and I ran into some friends I worked with in high school. But even if your long lost pal doesn’t show up, I’m sure that you can cozy up to someone at one of the tables and make a new one, what with that bubbly personality of yours.

So there you have it, the first, Annual, post from Colyn on the Lush blog. Enjoy!!

2 Comments

  1. George said,

    Nice to hear from you Colyn! Keep it up.

  2. Erin said,

    Weeeee! Oh Colyn, welcome to the wonderful world of the Lush Blog.

    And, for the record, going to the Map Room was A TERRIBLE IDEA.

Leave a Reply

