What were you drinking?

November 6, 2008 at 3:56 am (Beer, Our Favorite Things, What we're drinking) (, , , , , )

No matter your political convictions, last night was an important and historic moment. I know I am not alone in expressing my amazement at the energy in the air, and the sense of enthusiasm that people all around me were giving off. Like many of my friends and customers here at the shop, I carefully selected a few things to drink while watching the returns come in. I have to say that my own particular choice was fitting: the delicious Victory Brewery’s Baltic Thunder porter; made in the same town where I was born. Victory never tasted so sweet.

So, dear readers: what were you drinking during the election?

5 Comments

  1. lushrachel said,

    Kaleidos ‘Oak Rock’ 2005, Paso Robles, California.
    Steve Martell, a rocking young wine producer in the Central Coast of California, has been making wine for a number of years…working the land, tending his grapes, blending barrels, and living in a silver AirStream with no running water or electricity for some time. This particular blend of Syrah, Cabernet, Cabernet Franc and Petite Verdot is crazy deep purply with an amazingly rich nose and soft, silky palate. Super easy to drink, yet complex and yummy. PERFECT for watching the election, nail biting, shrieking with excitment, and toasting to ‘change.’

    Erin, thanks for such a fun, educational post!

  2. Lance said,

    I was at my parent’s home in Boulder, CO. I’ve been on the Obama train for years, and I celebrated my smug assuredness with a Stone Arrogant Bastard.

  3. George said,

    Erin, you may never let us in the store again, but Liz and I were (GASP!) Drinking an obnoxiously sweet, red wine from Michigan. Sorry, nothing personal! We promise it’ll never happen again!

  4. Lisa Wolff said,

    Scott and I were nursing non-vintage Aquafina. While it wasn’t the sparkling yumminess we would have prefered to help ring in such an historic event, we were in the center of it all in Grant Park and our beverage options were limited and the port-a-potties out of reach. So we sipped slowly. But we have done a fine job of making up for lost time since. Like tonight we’re lingering over a lovely Elizabeth Spencer Petite Syrah and loving it… and our democracy.

  5. Erin said,

    Yay! Thanks for the responses, everyone. Don’t worry George and Liz–I’m not judging! Michigan wine needs some loving too.

    And Lisa and Tom– that’s so great you guys were at the rally! I debated going, but opted to have a long dinner and wine instead. That ES PS is AMAZING though. Jealous!

Leave a Reply

