Brewin’ up trouble

October 10, 2008 at 6:49 pm (Beer, Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )

Winter is long and dreary. Winter makes me want to favor the old “hunker down” approach of not leaving my house too often. But there are some upsides, to be sure: I read all those books and watch all those movies I have been meaning to check out. I cook constantly, keeping my kitchen toasty with the oven’s warmth. I drink hefty red wines, wear the best wool socks ever, and, this winter, for the first time, I plan to brew my own beer.

This is going to be a collaborative effort! A few of my friends and neighbors have also expressed interest, to help share costs and do something pleasant together whilst snowed in. Should be a great time, but that is not to say that I am approaching this without any apprehension: I can remember way back to when I was about seven or eight years old, and my dad tried his hand at homebrewing. None of the grownups would let me taste the sudsy stuff, but I distinctly remember their grimaces as they tried the batches. I won’t even get into his attempts at root beer. Soon enough, the fermenting tanks and carboys were lain by the wayside, and the only person fiddling with the bottle capper was me. I hope to be a little more persistent–and brew some delicious beer.

This will be an ongoing series, with updates, photos, and commentary along the way to track my progress. I would welcome and encourage you, dear reader, to send along advice, admonishments, tips and tricks, and good beer karma. Cheers!

3 Comments

  1. Brian Yaeger said,

    Erin, great meeting you. And now you’re semi-quasi-almost-nearly-not-quite famous: http://beerodyssey.blogspot.com/2008/10/beef-beer-in-chicago.html
    Cheers,
    Brian

  2. synicalkaos said,

    Here’s to good brews.

    Cheers!

  3. The Merit of Lists « Lush Blog: The online home of the Lush Wine staff said,

    […] so begins the new enumeration project for 2009: in addition to homebrewing, my beau and I will attempt to drink and document the drinking of the beers on Beer […]

Leave a Reply

