Starting a Collection: The Arrival of the Fridge

September 9, 2008 at 3:17 am (What we're drinking) (, , , , , , )

Thanks to my mother, and her willingness to drive a truly ridiculous Home Depot rental pick-up, I now have a brand new, shiny, beautiful 50 bottle wine refrigerator. And here is where I get into trouble…The fridge just looked so sad with only a few bottles in it. My next shift at LUSH, I had to grab a few more to fill it out.

My first purchases had to be two bottles that I had put aside for myself at LUSH; on occasion, I’ll stash away wines in the event that they sell out. We actually still have a few left of each of these, but I’m guessing they will go quick…The first is the 2001 Rolly Gassmann Pinot Auxerrois from Alsace. Oh man, do I love this wine. Lovely, pristine, clean, and so vivacious for a seven year old white. Think: Alpine geysers — just extremely pure and refreshing. River stones and spice on nose lead to a full yet delicate mouth of fresh and softly sweet nectar. Complex flavors of hazelnuts and toast, with a sweet fruit that is balanced by fresh minerality rather than strong acidity. Incredible length. Yummmm!!

The other was the 2005 Alcina Sangiacomo Vineyard Pinot Noir. I have not had this wine yet, only the 2005 Russian River Valley pinot made by Alcina that we used to carry (no single vineyard designate). This was a wine that married all palates; I have yet to meet a person that wasn’t totally charmed by Alcina. It managed to have the sweet, rich fruit to please the New World pinot drinker, but with enough depth, acidity, and focus to balance it out for the Old World palate. Complex yet delicate, the wine was just plain lovely. And I expect nothing less out of this single vineyard pinot from them: the Sangiacomo Vineyard is located in the Petaluma gap, kept moderate by the fog and wind inherent to that area. Plus, yields are kept super low, usually between a ton and a ton and a half per acre. Only about 300 cases of this wine were made, and we managed to snag a few at Lush.

Til the next addition,

J.

Posted by Jane

1 Comment

  1. Alcohol Posts » Starting a Collection: The Arrival of the Fridge said,

    […] Jane wrote a fantastic post today on “Starting a Collection: The Arrival of the Fridge”Here’s ONLY a quick extractThanks to my mother, and her willingness to drive a truly ridiculous Home Depot rental pick-up, I now have a brand new, shiny, beautiful 50 bottle wine refrigerator. And here is where I get into trouble…The fridge just looked so sad … […]

Leave a Reply

